Running Vmware 7.1.4 on Ubuntu 11.10


After cracking my head a lot and leaving my laptop “Vmware-less” for nearly a month I finally decided to go ahead and fix this at once.
I’ve never been the upgrade hungry geek especially if it screws up my work . So I always stayed away from full system upgrades only choosing to do so after carefully reviewing the changelog and see if it works out for me.

However this time since I had my work duplicated on the desktop as well I though i’ll give it a try and upgraded my base OS to 11.10 and “BANG” I lost vmware in this process.
After the Kernel upgrade I was not able to use vmware. After reading a bit I figured that various vmware driver modules also needs to be rebuilt in accordance with the new kernel.

So here I have the procedure to install vmware “correctly” on linux beyond 3.x kernel.

For 3.0.x kernel releases.
1.)  cd /tmp
2.) wget http://weltall.heliohost.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/vmware2.6.39patchv3.tar.bz2
3.)  tar -xvjf vmware2.6.39patchv3.tar.bz2
4.) ./patch-modules_2.6.39.sh (become root)
Once done you should be good to go.

For 3.1.x releases.
1.) cd /tmp
2.) wget http://weltall.heliohost.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/vmware8linux31fix.tar.gz
3.) tar -xvzf vmware8linux31fix.tar.gz
4.) ./patch-modules_3.1.0.sh (become root)

NOTE:: The above mentioned procedures are for VMware workstation-7.1.4 ( At least that’s what I’ve tested it on.) If it works on higher version as well then “good luck”. Also let me know about it.

For VMware workstation-8 or VMplayer-4 take a look at this

On my older build I had hit issues with libglib causing problems with the VMware interface and it constantly crashed.
“The solution was to preload the vmware’s own lib in /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0/libglib-2.0.s0.0

I’m not sure if this is required on the new version. I’m still figuring it out. I will update this post if need be on that later.

Enjoy you’re vmware now. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Running Vmware 7.1.4 on Ubuntu 11.10

Leave a Reply

