Skype on Ubuntu 9.04[64]( A bit of an adventure)


It doesnt take took long for people like me to get fasinated by new releases, be it cars/bikes/ orrrrrrrrr in this case Ubuntu 9.04

No sonner did i try my luck with it than I wanted to go in for the 64bit version and there starts my adventure…

For me the most important application is skype and here i’ll disucss how to get everything working (ie:audio input and output) over skype..

First of all , there is no 64bit skype as of the date of me writing this post…

Step1: will say this only once ,so read carefully.

If you already have skype(more important skype-common) installed from somewhere(like I did, REMOVE it NOW)

by that I mean ,

–>dpkg -r skype skype-common

Then,

visit this page and just copy paste the highlighted lines(under adding repository) in your termianl, hit enter.

Once an update is done.. Just say “sudo apt-get install skype-static” and it will do the rest for you.(careful with the name, its not skype, its skype-static)

AUDIO i/p and o/p

This is a little tricky.

For some reason skype needs to have pulse audio disabled to work properly…

So do this,

sudo kill `pgrep pulseaudio`

Now you need to change a few setting in alsamixer. Do,

$alsamixer

(Dont worry about the various settings just ensure to max out everything you see there leaving the MIC boost to either minium or moderate levels)

hit <TAB> to go the the next set of settings and do the same .. once done <ESC>

Now open up skype–>options–>audo settings…

This is a bit tricky actually what works for me might not work for you.. But shuffling around with the various “Sound in / Sound out” list should work fine for you…

Dont worry something willl work provided you’ve followed everything thus far religiously 😉

PS: The settings that worked for me were Sound in=hda Nvidia (hw:Nvidia,0) ; Sound out=pulse

Hope it works for you folks as well..

Do let me know if anything fails will try resolving it..

Cheers!!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Skype on Ubuntu 9.04[64]( A bit of an adventure)

  1. I’ve followed your guide exactly, at least as best I could. I tried a fresh install and then tried your guide several times. Everything is working fine until the last step; choosing the sound in/out options. I can’t seem to pick the right combination. I am currently running Ubuntu 9.04 netbook remix on a LGx-130 netbook. Any help that you could offer me would be wonderful, I have been pulling out my hair trying to get skype-static and my built in mic to work.

    Thanks,

    Matt

  2. I’ve followed your guide exactly, at least as best I could. I tried a fresh install and then tried your guide several times. Everything is working fine until the last step; choosing the sound in/out options. I can’t seem to pick the right combination. I am currently running Ubuntu 9.04 netbook remix on a LGx-130 netbook. Any help that you could offer me would be wonderful, I have been pulling out my hair trying to get skype-static and my built in mic to work.

    Thanks,

    Matt

    *I’m replying again because I forgot to click “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” Sorry ><

    1. ok this seems to be an issue with pulseaudio..
      do this..
      # sudo kill `pgrep pulseaudio`

      Please note ` ` is backquotes.

      Could you revert after trying this out?
      Secondly if skype works then mic should work. unless you have not set the alsamixer up properly…
      I will help you resolve it.. but first need more info on the what youve done thus far.

      Sorry was held up with work and could not reply sooner.

Leave a Reply

